Regional Interstate Compacts for Higher Education

Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), one of four statutorily-created interstate compacts, was founded in 1991 and serves Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. MHEC fulfills its purpose by being a catalyst for collaborative actions that improve the quality, accessibility, effectiveness, and efficiency of postsecondary education by becoming the region’s premier resource for innovative and transformative policies and practices toward this end.

New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE) promotes greater educational opportunities and services for the residents of New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) works with 16 member states to improve public education at every level, from pre-K through Ph.D. SREB is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization headquartered in Atlanta. Member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. SREB’s work is funded by member appropriations and by grants and contracts from foundations and local, state and federal agencies. 

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) is a regional organization created by the Western Regional Education Compact, adopted in the 1950s by Western states. WICHE was created to facilitate resource sharing and collaboration among the higher education systems and institutions of the West. It improves access to higher education and fosters student success through its student exchange programs, regional initiatives that foster academic collaborations, cost savings initiatives, efforts to advance excellence in technology-enhanced teaching and learning, and research and policy work on numerous issues. Sixteen western states comprise WICHE: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawai‛i, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and its newest member, the Pacific Islands. Governed by a 48-member commission that is appointed by the governors of its member states, the organization develops an annual workplan that reinforces its mission and focuses its priorities. WICHE’s four units—Policy Analysis and Research, Programs and Services, Mental Health Program, and WCET—assist the West’s institutions and students, focusing on five areas: finance, access and success, workforce and society, technology and innovation, and accountability. WICHE’s funding includes annual dues from its member states; grants and contracts from foundations, corporations, and state and federal agencies; and fee-for-service activities. WICHE is led by President Joe Garcia. Based in Boulder, CO, the organization operates out of the State Higher Education Policy Center. For more information see: