SHEEO Query RE Geographic Jurisdiction

October 3, 2017

Dear SHEEO Academic Officers:

I have been asked to do a query with you as to whether your state still uses geographic jurisdictions in the approval of new degree programs. Historically, this was used to limit duplication of programs but with the rise of online program delivery it seems geographic jurisdiction might be a moot point. Below is an excerpt from the Kansas Board of Regents policy for your reference.

“The State shall be divided into three geographic areas to ensure that needs for off campus face-to-face courses and programs are met without unnecessary duplication.  These areas shall be served dually by the University of Kansas and Pittsburg State University, Wichita State University and Emporia State University, and Kansas State University and Fort Hays State University. These geographic service areas shall be established by the Board.  (See "Map of State University and Washburn University Service Areas" at the end of this policy.)  In addition, the University of Kansas, Kansas State University, Emporia State University, and Washburn University will share responsibility for serving Shawnee County.  Instances of apparent duplication in Shawnee County among the state universities and Washburn University shall be evaluated and resolved by the Board’s Vice President for Academic Affairs.”

State responses can be found here.